Steering Committee

One of the key goals of the Community Engagement Team is to develop a community-based working group to advise and support the outreach and engagement work within the Corridors of Opportunity initiative. To that end, the CET has developed a steering committee of community leaders that come together to discuss strategies, share experiences and learnings, and advocate for regional reforms to support better community engagement along our regional transitways.

The goals of the Community Engagement Steering Committee are to ensure underrepresented communities are a powerful voice in creating an equitable regional transit system by working with community stakeholders and policymakers to:

  • Set regional standards for community engagement
  • Ensure underrepresented communities can leverage community benefits
  • Secure equitable development from public investments in our regional transitways
  • Provide a space for grassroots groups to learn from and support each other
  • Expand resources to build the capacity of community groups to influence transitway planning
  • Consult and advise Community Engagement Team, policy makers, and Corridors of Opportunity Advisory Board on matters relating to community engagement across corridors

Membership in the group is open to all grassroots leaders along the Twin Cities’ planned transitways. Active members are:

Hussein Ahmed, West Bank Community Coalition (Central Corridor LRT, Hiawatha LRT)
Asad Aliweyd, New American Academy  (Southwest LRT)
Tabitha Benci-DeRango, Engage Eastside (Gateway Corridor)
Claire Bergen, Harrison Neighborhood Association (Southwest LRT, Bottineau LRT)
Ann Beuch, Blake Road Corridor Collaborative  (Southwest LRT)
Tim Brausen, ISAIAH  (Southwest LRT)
Veronica Burt, Engage Eastside  (Gateway Corridor)
Denise Butler, ACER  (Bottineau LRT)
Rick Cardenas, Advocating Change Together  (Central Corridor LRT)
Ishmael Israel, Northside Residents Redevelopment Council/ Northside Transportation Network , North Minneapolis resident (Bottineau LRT)
Vaughn Larry, Aurora St. Anthony Neighborhood Development Corporation (Central Corridor LRT)
Bill Lerman, Jewish Community Action (Southwest LRT, Central Corridor LRT)
Kenya McKnight, Northside Transportation Network (Bottineau LRT)
Shaneen Moore, Northside Economic Opportunity Network (Bottineau LRT)
Phouthakannha Nanthararth, Lao Assistance Center  (Southwest LRT, Bottineau LRT)
Brian Payne, Centro de Trabajadores Unidos en la Lucha (Cedar BRT, Southwest LRT, Bottineau LRT)
Elyse Ruiz, Chicano Latino Affairs Council of Minnesota (all corridors)
LaShella Sims, MICAH & North MPLS resident  (Southwest LRT, Bottineau LRT)
Carol Swenson, District Councils Collaborative  (Central Corridor LRT)
Va-Megn Thoj, Asian Economic Development Association (Central Corridor, Bottineau LRT)
Egynn Thomas, Community Stabilization Project (Central Corridor LRT)
Mason Wells, West Side Community Organization (Robert Street Corridor)
Anne White, District Councils Collaborative (Central Corridor LRT)

Staff support provided by:

Ned Moore, Minnesota Center for Neighborhood Organizing at 612-625-5805 or
Joan Vanhala, Alliance for Metropolitan Stability at 612-332-4471 or

Community Engagement Steering Committee Organizational Profiles