Outreach and Engagement Grants

What are Outreach and Engagement grants?

The Corridors of Opportunity Outreach and Engagement grants support innovative and effective placed-based initiatives that engage and involve underrepresented and marginalized communities (low-income, communities of color, immigrant communities, persons with disabilities) in participation, decision-making, and leadership roles around transit corridor planning and implementation.

Grants were awarded in 2011 and 2012 as part of the Corridors of Opportunity initiative. Read about the grants that were awarded in 2011 and 2012.

The Community Engagement Team is pleased to announce a third round of funding, made possible by a generous grant from the McKnight Foundation. These grants will fund projects in seven corridors within the system of existing and planned transitways in the region: Southwest LRT, Bottineau Transitway, Gateway Corridor, Cedar Avenue BRT, Central Corridor, Hiawatha LRT and Northstar Commuter Rail.

How do I apply?

To learn how to apply for an Outreach and Engagement grant, please review our grant guidelines. If you determine that you are eligible to apply for a grant, please complete and submit the grant application.

The deadline to apply is 4 p.m. on Friday, November 29, 2013.

Who makes the decisions about what proposals are funded?

All applications will be reviewed by a committee of representatives from community-based organizations, with the support of Community Engagement Team members.  All committee members will be required to abide by a conflict of interest policy and a confidentiality agreement.  We are still in the process of forming the 2013 Proposal Review Committee. Representatives who recommended the 2012 grants can be reviewed below.

2012 Proposal Review Committee:
Ann Beuch, Blake Road Collaborative [Hopkins], Southwest Corridor
Isabel Chanslor, Neighborhood Development Center [Minneapolis-St. Paul & suburbs], Central Corridor
Monica Bryand, Headwaters Foundation for Justice [Minneapolis-St. Paul & suburbs], multiple corridors
Veronica Burt, Just Equity [St. Paul], Central Corridor
Raymond Dehn, Northside Transportation Network [Minneapolis], Bottineau Corridor
Ariah Fine, northside Minneapolis community advocate [Mineapolis], Bottineau Corridor
Becky Fink, Anoka County community advocate [suburbs], North Star Corridor
Malik Holt-Shabazz, Harrison Neighborhood Association [Minneapolis], Bottineau & Southwest Corridors
Julia Kong, Asian Media Access [Minneapolis-St. Paul], Central & Bottineau Corridors
Wynfred Russell, African Career, Education & Resource, Inc. (ACER) [suburbs], Bottineau Corridor
Daniel Yang, Native American Community Development Institute [Minneapolis], Hiawatha Corridor

What if I have questions?

If you have questions or would like more information, please contact Elena Gaarder at 651-289-7030 or EGaarder@nexuscp.org.